History of Aso Rock Presidential Villa, Abuja

Aso Rock translates to “victorious people.” Nigerians call the Presidential Complex and the Nigerian State House by this famous appellation. Below is some basic information on Aso Rock Villa, as well as some photos.


Aso Villa was established in 1991, the same year that Nigeria’s capital was moved from Lagos to Abuja, by the Ibrahim Babaginda administration, and it is located on the outskirts of Abuja, Nigeria’s capital. Aso Rock is a 400-meter monolith that is Abuja’s pride.

Inside Aso Rock Villa Buildings

The mansion is surrounded by the Nigerian Presidential Complex, the Nigerian National Assembly, and the Nigerian Supreme Court. Much of the town is located to the south of the rocky outcropping. It was also the site of the Aso Rock Declaration, issued by Commonwealth Heads of Government during the CHOGM in Abuja in 2003.

Also Read:  Proven Ways To Get Qatar Visa In Nigeria

The chapel, café, and mosque are all located within the Aso Rock Villa complex. There are several rooms for various functions inside the Nigerian presidential mansion in Aso Rock. The building houses the offices of the Nigerian President and Vice President, as well as meeting spaces.

Aso Rock Presidential Villa’s occupants (Past and Present Presidents)

The Nigerian presidential villa in Aso Rock was occupied by the following presidents:

Need Federal Govt Free-Interest Loan? =>See Here.
  1. Ibrahim Babangida
  2. Sani Abacha
  3. Abdulsalam Abubakar
  4. Olusegun Obasanjo
  5. Umaru Musa Yar’ adua
  6. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.
  7. Muhammadu Buhari (Current President)

This information was first published on nyscinfo.com. DMCA PROTECTED.

Also Read:  15 Most Popular Art Galleries In Ibadan

Source: Nyscinfo

Updated: March 29, 2022 — 5:40 am

The Author

Stephen Adoga

Stephen Adoga is a trained journalist, researcher, creative writer, content creator, video editor and freelancer. He studied Mass Communication at the Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu, where he acquired requisite training for the practice of journalism. He loves the media. His interest mostly lies in the print medium where his creative writing skill makes him a perfect fit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.