Call For Entries | Wole Soyinka Award For Investigative Reporting 2023

The Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) is thrilled to announce that journalists may submit their entries for the 18th edition of the Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting (WSAIR) from Wednesday 4 October to Tuesday 24 October 2023 by 4pm. The award welcomes entries from Nigerian reporters, individuals or teams and full-time or freelancers, who have published stories in the Nigerian news media directly mainly at the Nigerian audience.

This year, Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) will continue its tradition of recognising exceptional journalism across print, online, photojournalism, editorial cartooning, television and radio genres that investigates public and corporate corruption, exposes human rights violations, and highlights regulatory abuses in Nigeria. The stories must be newsworthy, investigative, expose or prevent clandestine activities and corruption in the public and private domain and promote human rights.


  • Print
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Photography
  • Online
  • Editorial cartoon

About Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ)

Headquartered in Lagos, Nigeria, the Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) is a not-for-profit, non-governmental organisation with social justice programmes aimed at exposing corruption, regulatory failures and human rights abuses with the tool of investigative journalism. The initiative started in 2005 under the name Wole Soyinka Investigative Reporting Award (WSIRA). It operated as an award-giving organisation till 2008 when it took on the name Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ).

Qualification Requirements

The award is open to any Nigerian professional reporter or team of reporters (fulltime or freelancers), 18-years and above, who have published stories either online, in print, or through electronic media, primarily targeted at and received by a Nigerian audience.

Selection Criteria

The main criterion for eligibility is that the work (single work or single-subject serial) must involve reporting on public, and or corporate corruption, human rights violation, or on the failure of regulatory agencies. The story should reflect a high quality of investigation in terms of newsworthiness, capacity to expose or prevent clandestine activities, corruption in the public domain, an understanding of human rights implications enhanced by the quality of presentation. Such works should have been first published or broadcast in a Nigerian media between 4th October 2022 and 3rd October 2023.

How To Apply

Interested and qualified? Go to Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) on to apply

For more details, visit WSCIJ website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top