Connect with us


List of States that have Announced Schools Resumption (Updated)

As the Federal Government starts gradual easing of the COVID-19 lockdown measures nationwide, some states have announced the full commencement of academic activities for both tertiary and non-tertiary institutions. In this post, we shall look at the list of states that have announced resumption of schools and dates.

Get Federal Government Loan for Business Startup => See Here!

List of States that have Announced Schools Resumption & Date

It can be recalled that the federal government at the wake of COVID-19 outbreak in Nigeria shutdown schools, churches and other gatherings to contain the spread of the disease.

The international flights which were also shutdown will begin full operation on 5th September 2020.

Churches, Mosques and Market have also been eased. Civil servants have also resumed, the only thing left now is the reopening of schools and NYSC orientation camp.

On the reopening of NYSC orientation camp, the Director-General of the scheme, Brig. Gen. Shauibu Ibrahim has declared readiness, said they are only waiting for green light from Federal Government.

Also Read:  How to Apply Nigerian Air Force College of Nursing 2021

However, several state governments in Nigeria have announced full reopening of schools for both tertiary and non-tertiary institutions.

Meanwhile, the minister of health has warned that COVID-19 still has power to take life and very dangerous, while Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) advised the Nigerian government against reopening universities now.

Note: Exit classes in all states in Nigeria have resumed school since August 4th, 2020.

List of states that have announced school resumption

Below is the list of states that have announced school’s resumption date;

  1. Kogi State: on 14th September 2020, all schools in Kogi State will fully reopened.

  2. Oyo State: All schools will open starting from September 21st.

  3. Lagos State: 14th Sept, 2020 for all tertiary institutions. And 21st Sept, 2020 for all Primary and Secondary schools.

  4. Anambra State: Resumption for all schools is on 7th September 2020.

  5. Osun State: All schools to resume on 14th September 2020.

  6. Benue State: All schools in the state will reopen on September 21st.

  7. Bayelsa State: Only Primary 6 will resume starting from 7th September 2020.

  8. Ebonyi State: All schools in the state will reopen on October 5th.

  9. Ogun State: Some schools including Ogun State Institution of Technology, Igbase will reopen on 21st September.

  10. Delta State: We have not gotten official date for Delta but Delta State Polytechnic has announced 2nd October as its reopening date.

Also Read:  Cheapest Universities In USA And Canada For Nigerians

If your state has announced full resumption of schools but not on our list, kindly let us know in the comment section so we can add it.

Share this post

Continue Reading
You may also like...


  1. Thomas mary

    October 2, 2020 at 12:34 pm

    What about cross river State are they not resuming yet

  2. Sadeeyah

    September 28, 2020 at 9:23 pm

    What about kaduna state

  3. Zulaihat Yahaya Salisu

    September 26, 2020 at 5:28 pm

    What about kano state

  4. Melvin

    September 26, 2020 at 8:17 am

    What of Rivers State, are they not resuming like other states!????

  5. Aniekan evans

    September 21, 2020 at 6:37 pm

    Akwa ibom had announced the reopening of schools.

    • Morgan Kelly

      September 24, 2020 at 9:27 pm

      Please. What the date???

  6. Yohannah John

    September 19, 2020 at 11:52 pm

    Taraba State government has also officially announced the reopening of both government and private schools in the state on 21st September, the statement was made earlier on Friday by the commissioner of education in the state.

  7. Odogwu

    September 19, 2020 at 6:23 pm

    Delta State tertiary institution 2nd of October y primary and secondary School is 21st of September

  8. Ruth Aladeojebi

    September 19, 2020 at 11:34 am

    What of Ekiti state Resumption

    • Adesewa Kikelomo

      September 19, 2020 at 4:14 pm

      They are resuming on the 21st of September

  9. Emmanuel Emole Onuoha

    September 19, 2020 at 11:17 am

    Taraba State Primary and Secondary schools are set to resume on Monday (21st September).

  10. Ubah James

    September 15, 2020 at 9:45 am

    What of kebbi state, are they not resuming like others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Education


Recent Posts

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Enter your email address to SUBSCRIBE for FREE to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,751 other subscribers
To Top