How To Apply For SCUML Certificate In Nigeria

If you intend to do any business that designated non-financial institution in Nigeria, you need to register for SCUML certificate which is issued by the supervising and regulating body of Designated Non-Financial Institutions (DNFIs) in accordance with the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act ML (P) Act 2011 and the Prevention of Terrorism Act (PTA) 2011.

SCUML means Special Control Unit against Money Laundering. It is a certificate issued by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to non-financial institutions in Nigeria. Now, you might wonder what these non-financial institutions are in Nigeria. Don’t worry because we will tell you that. In Nigeria, only the commercial banks are authorized by the government to carry out the business of management of finance.

Therefore, any other organization claiming to be a financial institution but is not a commercial bank is considered to be non-financial institution that will require the SCUML certificate to operate.

READ :  How to Create LinkedIn Business Page (Step-by-Step)

What are these Designated Non-Financial Institutions (DNFIs)?

These institutions are many, but we will mention a few to give you an idea of the type of business institutions that we are talking about. Some examples are: Estate Developers, Tax Consultants, Audit Firms, Chartered Accountants, Supermarkets, and Precious Stones and Metal Dealers, etc.

What are the Documents Required for SCUML Registration?

• Certificate of Incorporation from CAC.

• Memorandum and Articles of Association.

Need Federal Govt Free-Interest Loan? =>See Here.

• Form CAC 1.1 (CAC 2 and CAC 7 for old registration).

• National Identification Number (NIN).

• Bank Verification Number (BVN).

• Bank name and Account number.

READ :  How Does Facebook Make Money - (Clean Explanation)

• Tax Identification Number.

How to Apply SCUML Certificate for your business in Nigeria

To get the SCUML certificate, you need to officially apply to the appropriate authority for the process of issuing the certificate to kick start. As we stated earlier, this certificate is issued by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

And because of how huge their task of tracking fraud and money laundering in Nigeria is, you will need to follow the right protocol to be able to get it done for you in the right well.

If you want to apply, you can visit the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) official website at to learn more about the registration process.

READ :  Nigeria Free Trade Zones & how to register with


Updated: July 19, 2021 — 6:16 pm

The Author


Humphery is a seasoned internet entrepreneur and a life coach. He has been the Nyscinfo ambassador since 2017. He is knowledgeable enough to guide you. Keep following this website for updates, we love you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *