How to Choose States during NYSC Online Registration

Do you know that during NYSC online registration, Prospective Corps members (PCMs) will be asked to choose four (4) states of choice? In this article, you will learn how to select states of choice during NYSC online registration.

Information about the NYSC zoning and the selection of four (4) states of choice during NYSC online registration is well explained on this page.

With the information provided on this page, PCM will understand how to the selection of states works. They will not be confounded anymore.

Choosing States of choice – NYSC Zoning

Zoning is a new registration procedures invented by NYSC which allows Prospective Corps Members to choose four (4) states they would like to serve. NYSC will post them to one of the four (4) choosen states.

How to choose States during NYSC online registration

You will only be allowed to select Four (4) states from the six (6) Geo-political zone in Nigeria. You may not select your State of origin and State of Institution for those who studied outside their state of origin. Only one state is to be selected from each zone.

Although, there are six (6) Geo-political zones in Nigeria, you may not choose 6 states, but only 4 states.

Don’t worry, by the time you are through reading this article, you will know how it is done.

Since you will only be allowed to select 4 states, each from 6 geo-political ones, this is how it works.

  • You must choose one state from the North Central zone
  • Choose one state from either North East or North-West zones
  • Select one state from either South East or South-South zones, and
  • Another one state from South West zone.

Remember that from the 4 selected states, NYSC will deploy you to one state.

Below are the six (6) geo-political zones in Nigeria

Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria and states within them.

North Central (7 states)

  • Benue State
  • Kogi State
  • Kwara State
  • Nasarawa State
  • Niger State
  • Federal Capital Territory Plateau State

North East (6 states)

  • Adamawa State
  • Bauchi State
  • Borno State
  • Gombe State
  • Taraba State
  • Yobe State

North West (7 states)

  • Jigawa State
  • Kaduna State
  • Kano State
  • Katsina State
  • Kebbi State
  • Sokoto State
  • Zamfara State

South East (5 states)

  • Abia State
  • Anambra State
  • Ebonyi State
  • Enugu State
  • Imo State

South South (6 states)

  • Akwa-Ibom State
  • Cross-River State
  • Rivers State
  • Bayelsa State
  • Delta State
  • Edo State

South West (6 states)

  • Ekiti State
  • Lagos State
  • Ogun State
  • Ondo State
  • Osun State
  • Oyo State

We hope this article is helpful to you. Kindly use the comment section below to tell us what you think.

Check our business site at for business ideas and other making money opportunities

19 thoughts on “How to Choose States during NYSC Online Registration”

  1. Iwuagwu Deborah

    I did my jamb reg since February 22 2021 till now jamb has not given me admission pls wahat should I do thank u.

  2. I am from Ogun state
    And I also Schooled in Ogun state

    My state selection for NYSC are: Anambra,abj,Oyo and I don’t know the northern State to pick


    Am from Akwa Ibom state
    I school in Ebonyi state

    These are my state selections during registration


    Which state should I expect?

  4. Anthony Bassey

    I’m from Akwa Ibom state,
    I school in Ebonyi state.

    Please is this state selections okay?

    Please, is this my state selections ok

    Abuja, Lagos, Delta, Anambra(Nasarawa) state.

    1. You states selection can only be determine during online registration because some states like Abuja, Lagos etc may not even be available for you to choose…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top