Names of State Governors in Nigeria and their Parties

We shall look into the names of state governors in Nigeria and the political parties they belong.

Nigeria has a total of 36 States and a Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja. Each State has a governor, only Abuja has Minister of FCT instead of a governor.

Names of State Governors in Nigeria and their Parties

According to the Nigerian constitution, a person shall be eligible for the office of State Governor in Nigeria if;

  • He/she is a citizen of Nigeria by birth,
  • Be at least 35 years of age,
  • Is a member of a political party and is sponsored by that political party.

The constitution limits State governors to only two terms of four year terms in office.

Names of state Governors in Nigeria and their parties

Below is a list of the 36 States in Nigeria and their current governors and political party they belong;

1. Abia: Dr Victor Ikpeazu, PDP.

2. Adamawa: Jibrilla Jindow, APC.

3. Akwa Ibom: Emmanuel Udom, PDP.

4. Anambra: Willie Obiano, APGA.

5. Bauchi: Mohammed Abubakar, APC (awaits court’s decision).

6. Bayelsa: Douye Diri, PDP.

7. Benue: Samuel Ortom, APC.

8. Borno: Kashim Shettima, APC.

9. Cross River: Prof. Ben Ayade, PDP.

10. Delta, Ifeanyi Okowa, PDP.

Need Federal Govt Free-Interest Loan? =>See Here.

11. Ebonyi: Dave Umahi, PDP.

12. Edo: Godwin Obaseki, APC.

13. Enugu: Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, PDP.

14. Ekiti: John OluKayode Fayemi, APC

15. Gombe: Inuwa Yahaya, APC.

16. Imo State: Hope Uzodinma, APC (Supreme court declared him winner).

17. Jigawa: Alhaji Muhammad Badaru, APC.

18. Kaduna: Nasirel Rufai, APC.

19. Kano: Umar Ganduje, APC.

20. Katsina: Aminu Masari, APC.

21. Kebbi: Atiku Bagudu, APC.

22. Kwara: Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, APC.

23. Lagos: Babajide Sanwo-Olu, APC.

24. Nasarawa: Abdullahi Sule, APC.

25. Niger: Abubakar Sanu-Lulu Bello, APC.

26. Ondo: Rotimi Akeredolu, APC.

27. Ogun: Dapo Abiodun, APC.

28. Osun: Ademola Adeleke, PDP (Tribunal declared him winner)

29. Oyo: Seyi Makinde, PDP.

30. Plateau: Rt Hon Simon Lalong, APC.

31. Rivers: Nyesom Wike, PDP.

32. Sokoto: Aminu Tambuwal, APC.

33. Taraba: Mr. Darius Ishaku, PDP.

34. Yobe: Mai Mala Buni, APC.

35. Zamfara: Bello Matawalle, PDP.

36. Abuja F.C.T: Mohammed Bello is the FCT Minister

As it stands, APC controls majority of the states in Nigeria while PDP won few other states especially in the Southern region of the country. See, Salaries of State Governors in Nigeria.

READ :  Full Meaning of 5G, 4G, 3G, 2G, and 1G Networks
Updated: March 2, 2020 — 12:15 pm

The Author


Humphery is a seasoned internet entrepreneur and a life coach. He has been the Nyscinfo ambassador since 2017. He is knowledgeable enough to guide you. Keep following this website for updates, we love you!


Add a Comment
  1. Nnanyelugo chiamaka

    If you already have a place you are working, what are the necessary steps and required documents the organization can take to request for you to still serve in the organization. And also I need format on the letter written to request for the corper.

  2. Akindipe Emmanuel

    Bauchi isn’t correct, it’s Senator Mohammed Bala Kaura Bauchi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *