Full List | Meet The Lawmakers Sacked By Election Petitions Tribunals

The victory of Labour Party (LP) lawmakers in the last election sparked optimism among Nigerians looking for a change; yet, at least three Senators from the party were dismissed by the tribunal within their first hundred days in office.

The tribunal’s decision is not the end of the road, as they can still appeal to courts of higher jurisdiction.

Seyi Sowunmi

On August 25, the National Assembly Elections Petition Tribunal overturned Sowunmi’s victory on the platform of the (LP).

A three-man tribunal panel fired Sowunmi and granted victory to Ogunyemi, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate and former Lagos State APC Secretary.

The panel’s members – Justice Ashu A. Ewah, Chairman; Justice Abdullahi A. Ozegya; and Justice M A. Sambo – determined that the Labour Party’s candidate was ineligible to run in the elections.

Amobi Ogah

No photo description available.

On September 6, the Election Petitions Tribunal in Umuahia, Abia State’s capital, deposed Labour Party candidate Amobi Ogah as the legislator representing Abia State’s Isuikwuato/Umunneochi House of Representatives seat.

The panel found in its decision that Nkiru Onyejeocha of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is the lawful winner of the seat.

Ngozi Okolie

Labour Party vows to appeal tribunal ruling sacking Ngozi Okolie as House  of Reps member

On July 24, the National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal in Asaba, Delta State, declared Ngozi Okolie’s election as the representative for the Aniocha/Oshimili Constituency in the House of Representatives unlawful.

The tribunal decided that because Okolie had not been a member of the Labour Party by the primary election date of May 28, 2022, he was not officially sponsored by the party.

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC), the party with the most Senators in the Red Chamber, is also affected, since certain senators were defeated in their respective states’ Senatorial Election Petition Tribunals.

Senator Thomas Onowakpo

10th Senate will bring best input in governance – Sen Onowakpo - Vanguard  News

On September 6, the Senatorial Election Petitions Tribunal in Asaba, Delta State’s capital, ordered the removal of Delta South lawmaker Senator Thomas Onowakpo.

Michael Diden, the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, had petitioned the tribunal for the disqualification of the APC candidate.

Before pronouncing the APC election winner, he accused the Independent National Electoral Commission of violating the Electoral Act.

Jibrin Isah

Appeal Court affirms APC's Isah Jibrin as Kogi East Senator, dismisses Atai  Aidoko's appeal — Daily Nigerian

On September 5, the Senatorial poll Petition Tribunal in Lokoja, the Kogi state capital, ordered Isah’s dismissal and asked the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to hold a supplemental poll in the senatorial district.

Abubakar Sadiku-Ohere

Kogi Central 2023: Ohere the Man Whom the Cap Best Fits - :: Kogi Reports ::

On September 6, Justice Kemakolam Orjiakoin of the Kogi State tribunal fired Sadiku-Ohere and proclaimed Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan the winner of the senatorial district election held on February 24.

The tribunal’s Chairman, Orjiakoin, stated that Ohere’s results were inflated in nine polling units of Ajaokuta Local Government Area (LGA), while Natasha’s results were intentionally reduced in the same areas by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), as well as three other polling units results that were intentionally not entered for Natasha in the same LGA.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top